Assembly Elections 2023: BJP wins Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh; Congress dislodges BRS in Telangana

Assembly Elections 2023: BJP wins Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh; Congress dislodges BRS in Telangana

Assembly Elections 2023: BJP wins Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh; Congress dislodges BRS in Telangana

The patterns of election results in Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh have shocked political analysts and parties alike. The Bharatiya Janata Party is prepared for another term in Madhya Pradesh following an 18-year tenure.

The outcomes of these four states’ state assembly elections are seen as a critical preliminary round ahead of the general elections that will take place in less than six months. On Sunday, the four states started counting votes at eight in the morning.

The vote-counting for the 2023 Assembly Elections in Mizoram was originally scheduled for December 3, but it was moved to December 4 instead because Sunday is a special day for the state’s Christian majority population.

The BJP registered a thumping win in Rajasthan

In Rajasthan’s Legislative Assembly, the BJP secured 115 seats. 69 seats were won by Congress.

The candidates from Sardarpura and Tonk constituencies, respectively, were Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot. The Election Commission reports that former chief minister and prominent BJP leader Vasundhara Raje has won the Jhalrapatan Assembly seat.

Eight independent candidates have become victorious in the Rajasthan assembly elections, four of them are BJP rebels. One of them is Chandrabhan Aakya, who ran on his own but was ousted by the BJP in Chittorgarh and replaced by a relative of former vice president Bhairon Singh Shekhawat.

The Rajasthan assembly elections resulted in the defeat of 17 out of the 25 ministers in the Congress government led by Ashok Gehlot, including Govind Ram Meghwal, who also headed the party’s campaign committee.

The BJP secured a historic victory in Madhya Pradesh by defeating the Congress

Madhya Pradesh’s state Assembly elections saw the Bharatiya Janata Party pull off a historic victory, retaining power in the state. The BJP secured 163 members in the 230-member Assembly, while the Congress could only muster 66 seats.

Apart from the brief 15-month period during which the Kamal Nath-led administration held power when the Congress took office in 2018, Madhya Pradesh has been a BJP stronghold for the past 20 years. Remarkably, though, four-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan of the BJP has not been formally announced as the party’s nominee for president in 2023.

The BJP defeated the incumbent Congress government in Chhattisgarh

Based on data from the Election Commission of India, the BJP has secured its victory in Chattisgarh after securing a majority of 46 seats in the state, following in the footsteps of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh.

Following the crushing defeat of the Congress party in Chhattisgarh, outgoing chief minister Bhupesh Baghel submitted his resignation to the governor.

“I have tendered my resignation to the Governor. I accept the people’s mandate and we are now in the opposition. We need to introspect the reason for our loss. I want to congratulate BJP,” he told the media.

The Congress ended the BRS’ reign in Telangana

In the Telangana Assembly elections, the resurgent Congress staged a stunning comeback, taking the lead with 64 out of 119 votes. The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) of K. Chandrashekar Rao was unable to complete a hat-trick as a result of the results.

The Congress faces an increasing challenge ahead of the 2024 elections, as evidenced by the BJP’s 3-1 victory in the Assembly elections for four states: Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Chhattisgarh. However, the Congress can find some comfort in its victory in the Southern State of Telangana, where it ousted a formidable regional contender, BRS.

Pollsters predict the ruling Mizo National Front will win in Mizoram, where the results are expected to be released tomorrow. The Congress is expected to come in second. It has historically been challenging for the Congress to remove regional parties that it has lost elections to. In Tamil Nadu since 1967, in Uttar Pradesh since 1989, in Bihar since 1990, and in Odisha since 2000, there hasn’t been a Congress government.